On January 1, 2009, the Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey introduced a new series of Turkish Lira banknotes which differ from, and replaced, the 2005 series called New Turkish Liras (Yeni Türk Lirası).

There was no change in the value of the Turkish lira. All values and conversions remained the same. (Here are current Turkish lira exchange rates.)

The new “E9” series of banknotes are called simply Turkish Lira (Türk Lirası) instead of New Turkish Lira (Yeni Türk Lirası) as on the older 2005-series notes.

Previous articleTurkish Cuisine
Next articleWhile you are in